Skip to main content

Performance Issue: Zoom Screen-Sharing Defaults to Host-Only

Last Updated:
2020-04-08 14:55:41
Event:
2020-03-27 12:46:00
Status:
Closed
Brief Description:
On the evening of Thursday, March, 26, 2020, the default setting for screen sharing in Zoom meetings was changed by Zoom from being available for all attendees to being restricted to host only.
User Impact:
The default setting for screen sharing in Zoom meetings was changed by Zoom from being available for all attendees to being restricted to host only.
Workaround:
Users can revert to the previous experience in their account settings: https://cornell.zoom.us/profile/setting . It can also be changed within an active meeting by going to the advanced sharing options.
Current Status:
This change by Zoom is being retained for enhanced privacy and security.
Services Affected:
Web and Video Conferencing
Subsites Affected:
Web and Video Conferencing
Full Description:
It has come to Cornell staff’s attention that on the evening of Thursday, March, 26, 2020, the default setting for screen sharing in Zoom meetings was changed by Zoom from being available for all attendees to being restricted to host only. It seems likely Zoom made this change to reduce the impact of uninvited and unwanted individuals joining Zoom meetings. For this reason, CIT will leave the change in place. Users can revert to the previous experience in their account settings: https://cornell.zoom.us/profile/setting . It can also be changed within an active meeting by going to the advanced sharing options.



Timeline of Changes

Description Current Status Date Time
It has come to Cornell staff’s attention that on the evening of Thursday, March, 26, 2020, the default setting for screen sharing in Zoom meetings was changed by Zoom from being available for all attendees to being restricted to host only. It seems likely Zoom made this change to reduce the impact of uninvited and unwanted individuals joining Zoom meetings. For this reason, CIT will leave the change in place. Users can revert to the previous experience in their account settings: https://cornell.zoom.us/profile/setting . It can also be changed within an active meeting by going to the advanced sharing options. This change by Zoom is being retained for enhanced privacy and security. 2020-03-27 12:50:16