Skip to main content

Scheduled Service Change: Update: Box Account Deprovisioning-Related Notifications

Event:
2018-09-02 09:00:00
Expected Duration:
2018-09-02 12:00:00
Status:
Closed
Brief Description:
The deprovisioning of Box accounts associated with individuals who have left the university is causing notifications to individuals who are still here and have access to files owned by the deleted account.
User Impact:
Notifications that the content has been moved to the new folder. Visible change of ownership.
Services Affected:
Not Applicable
Subsites Affected:
Box
Full Description:
Update: Some individuals who had access to files stored in a deprovisioned account have received a notification from Box, "Items were moved…" followed by a folder named after the NetID and name of the owner of the deprovisioned account. The folders are still available to everyone who had access, but need to be assigned to a new owner if they are still in use. The supervisor of the former owner can contact the IT Service Desk to request transfer of ownership. We highly recommend the transfer of folders to Box Departmental Folders rather than personal accounts, as this avoids having the problem repeat on any future staff turnover.

Background: On September 2, CIT changed the way that inactive Box accounts are handled. Previously they had been left in place so that people could continue to use any files and folders shared with them. Content from inactive accounts is now being moved to a holding account for a period of time. This provides the visual notification to collaborators that such content is owned by "Deleted User." For content owned by former staff members, the area supervisor can submit a ticket to the Service Desk to have content transferred to a new owner. This transfer to a holding account and any later ownership transfer will not change any collaboration relationships already in place. In every case, the former owner has already lost access to this content.

This change is necessary to recover the licenses used by departed users.
CIT TDX ID:
CRQ000001028218



Timeline of Changes

Description Current Status Date Time
Update: Some individuals who had access to files stored in a deprovisioned account have received a notification from Box, "Items were moved…" followed by a folder named after the NetID and name of the owner of the deprovisioned account. The folders are still available to everyone who had access, but need to be assigned to a new owner if they are still in use. The supervisor of the former owner can contact the IT Service Desk to request transfer of ownership. We highly recommend the transfer of folders to Box Departmental Folders rather than personal accounts, as this avoids having the problem repeat on any future staff turnover. Background: On September 2, CIT changed the way that inactive Box accounts are handled. Previously they had been left in place so that people could continue to use any files and folders shared with them. Content from inactive accounts is now being moved to a holding account for a period of time. This provides the visual notification to collaborators that such content is owned by "Deleted User." For content owned by former staff members, the area supervisor can submit a ticket to the Service Desk to have content transferred to a new owner. This transfer to a holding account and any later ownership transfer will not change any collaboration relationships already in place. In every case, the former owner has already lost access to this content. This change is necessary to recover the licenses used by departed users. 2018-09-04 16:18:54
* Net-Announce Message: On September 2, CIT will change the way that inactive Box accounts are handled. Previously they had been left in place so that people could continue to use any files and folders shared with them. After this date, content from inactive accounts will be moved to a holding account for a period of time. This will provide the visual notification to collaborators that such content is owned by “Deleted User”. For content owned by former staff members, the area supervisor can submit a ticket to the Service Desk to have content transferred to a new owner. This transfer to a holding account and any later ownership transfer will not change any collaboration relationships already in place. In every case, the former owner has already lost access to this content. This change is necessary to recover the licenses used by departed users. 2018-08-23 11:15:35